Milford House Museum

 

Morning Room (3)

This room was the Morning Room in the Mc Crum family's time. Milford House was the first private residence in Co. Armagh to have a telephone and it was here that R.G Mc Crum had a telephone line installed which connected to the factory so he could keep an eye on his business. The room became The Study of the Headmistress of the Manor House School. Mrs. Killen (Headmistress 1943-1958) had her writing bureau (which is now in the Milford House Museum collections and on display in no.57) at an angle between the two windows so she could observe the girls in front of the house and those girls on the south lawns.

The two fixed white bookcases are original. The room has a breathtaking plasterwork by Rudolph Steiner and the ceiling is dominated by a central cornice. Today we think of lighting effect as a modern concept but R.G Mc Crum was ahead of his time with this. Originally there would have been a number of drop lights from the oval cornice giving an unusual lighting effect and making the room extremely bright.

The 1940 inventory of the Manor House School lists this room as containing:

Carpet, rug, 2 desks, chesterfiedl suite, 4 matching cushions, 3chairs, 3small tables, 1waste paper basket, 4curtains, droplight.  bulb. shade, table lamp, fender, fire irons, french clock, 2 pictures, 2fixed white bookshelves, electric fire, coal bucket, various flower vases.

The fireplace in this room which was in the Adams style, was regarded b y many as the most beautiful fireplace in the house. It was stolen and the blue inset tiles were stolen after the Armagh Council sold the property to current owners in 2002.

 

Inset tiles in Morning room 1996. Photographed by Armagh Council during removal of fireplaces. Tiles left intact. Later stolen.

Ceiling cornice in The Morning Room 2002